This project has retired. For details please refer to its Attic page.
Apache Crunch - About


The initial source code of the Apache Crunch project has been written mostly by Josh Wills at Cloudera in 2011, based on Google's FlumeJava library. The project was open sourced at GitHub soon afterwards where serveral releases up to and including 0.2.4 were made.

In May 2012, Cloudera donated the source code to Apache and the project entered the Apache Incubator. After 9 months at the Incubator and three releases (0.3.0-incubating to 0.5.0-incubating), the Apache Board of Directors established the Apache Crunch project in February 2013 as a new top level project.


ID Name Organization Role
brock Brock Noland StreamSets PMC member, committer
chaoshi Chao Shi Independent PMC member, committer
davw David Whiting Independent Committer
dbeech Dave Beech Cloudera committer
greid Gabriel Reid NGData PMC member, committer
jwills Josh Wills Slack PMC member, committer
kiyan Kiyan Ahmadizadeh WibiData PMC member, committer
mafr Matthias Friedrich Independent PMC member, committer
mkwhit Micah Whitacre Cerner PMC chair, Committer
robertchu Robert Chu WibiData PMC member, committer
rsharma Rahul Sharma PMC member, committer
tomwhite Tom White Cloudera PMC member, committer
tzolov Christian Tzolov Pivotal PMC member, committer
vinodkv Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli Hortonworks PMC member, committer